African Gender Forum and Award
   PRESENTATION      Background
     Vision and Objectives
     Related Projects
   AFRICAN GENDER AWARD      The Selection Committee
     2011 Award
     2009 Award
     2007 Award
     2005 Award
   AFRICAN GENDER FORUM     2011 Edition
    2009 Edition
    2007 Edition
    2005 Edition

Pan-African Centre



français |english
AWARD 2009: President Armando Guebuza

President Guebuza On 29 January 2009 in Addis Ababa, on the margins of the 12th African Union Summit, the Selection Committee of the African Gender Award, chaired by Ms. Bineta Diop in the absence of Hon. Ambassador Gertrude Mongella, President of Pan African Parliament, elected His Excellency President Armando Guebuza of the Republic of Mozambique to receive the 2009 African Gender Award.
To follow the previous recipients of the African Gender Award, President Abdoulaye Wade of Senegal, President Thabo Mbeki of South Africa (2005), President Paul Kagame of Rwanda (2007), President Guebuza’s election was guided by specific criteria and indicators designed to monitor the implementation of the Solemn Declaration on Gender Equality in Africa (SDGEA) adopted by the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the Third Ordinary Session of the African Union in Addis Ababa in July 2004.
Full text>>

 AWARD 2009 - Field Visit to the Recipient Country

Following Mozambique election, and in preparation of the African Gender Award Ceremony the Selection Committee was invited to an audience with the President Guebuza on August 28th 2009. A Delegation of the Committee was set up to organize a field visit to Maputo to offer their personal congratulations to H.E. President Armando Guebuza for his election as recipient of the 2009 Award.

The Delegation to Maputo was composed of :
- Mr. Ayodele Aderinwale, Executive Director, Africa Leadership Forum, Nigeria;
- Ms. Bineta Diop, Executive Director, Femmes Africa Solidarité;
- Ms. Codou Diaw
, Executive Director, Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE), Kenya;
- Mr. Vasu Gounden
, Founder and Executive Director, African Centre for the Constructive Resolution of Disputes, South Africa.
The Delegation was hosted by Honorable Madam Graça Machel, President of Foundation for Community Development (FDC). Despite the fact that H.E Madame Graça Machel was not present but she committed her staff in particular Ms Marta Cumbi and Valuarda Monjane in the preparation of the event. Full text>>

AWARD 2009 - Publications

AWARD 2009 - Media